Root 70 plays the music of Burnt Friedman & The Nu Dub Players and Flanger
Download from Bandcamp

released June 2006
LP out of print

Hayden Chisholm – saxophone/clarinet/melodica
Nils Wogram – trombone
Jochen Rueckert – drums
Matt Penman – double bass
(Burnt Friedman – keyboards/synth/edits/dubs)

01 Get Things Straight
02 Designer Groove
03 Five Star Group Travel
04 Destination Unknown
05 Revivitator (Tongs Of Love) featuring Black Sifichi
06 Escape The Night
07 Life Is Worth Dying For
08 It Ain´t Rocket Science – Flanger
09 Bosco´s Disposable Driver – Flanger
10 Nightbeat – Flanger

Guest Musicians

Black Sifichi – voice & lyrics on “Revivitator” (Tongs Of Love), recorded by Black Sifichi in Paris, 2001
Norbert Krämer – metal percussion and cymbals on “Five Star Group Travel”, congas on “It Ain’t Rocket Science” and “Bosco’s Disposable Driver”, recorded by B.Friedman in Cologne, January 2006
Claudio Ortuzar / Ernesto Artunez – percussion on “Get Things Straight” and “It Ain’t Rocket Science”, recorded by Atom™ in Santiago De Chile as part of the Flanger “Inner Space/Outer Space” sessions, 2001
Joseph Suchy – electric guitar on “Destination Unknown” and “Escape The Night”, recorded in Cologne as part of the “Con Ritmo” sessions, 1999

produced and arranged by Hayden Chisholm and Burnt Friedman – recorded by Wolfgang Stach in Cologne, October 2005

“One of the albums getting very high rotation at Chateau Peril at the moment is Root 70’s Heaps Dub (…) Saxophone, clarinet, trombone, double bass and light touch drum work combine with Friedman’s subtle post-production effects, revealing the strength of Friedman (and Atom Heart’s) original compositions even when freed from their digital roots. Root 70’s Heaps Dub is one to check.” (Perilious, AUS)

“The ten tracks assembled on HEAPS DUB all come from the diverse albums Friedman has released with the projects Flanger – together with Atom™ – The Nu Dub Players and also solo on Nonplace from 2000-2004. This selection was chosen by Hayden Chisholm. HEAPS DUB presents the reconstruction of the reconstruction: Friedman in his original programmed work has always tried to come as close as it gets to the authenticity of natural instruments and the spirit of a band playing – to question the very principle of “natural”. ROOT 70 on this album have “re-naturalized” the programmed works of Friedman – not necessarily to question the very principle of “programmed”, but to show that these works are true songs in their own right, as well as musical favourites, no matter what the overall circumstances might be.” (Daniel Giebel)