Friedman & Liebezeit “Secret Rhythms 2”
Download from Bandcamp
released on CD and 2×12″,2005
LP out of print

01. Sikkerhed (4:21)
02. The Sticks (8:16)
03. The Librarian , CD version featuring David Sylvian (8:15) LP version: instrumental
04. Mikrokasper (3:38)
05. Niedrige Decken (8:10)
06. Broken Wind Repair (4:58)
07. Fearer (6:54)
08. Caracoles (4:29) CD only
08. Wirklich (3:19) LP only

The first two pieces on Secret Rhythms 2 were released in May 2005 on EP vinyl Out In The Sticks (non17) and appear here in completely new versions. The only vocal track on this album “The Librarian” is a collaboration with David Sylvian. In addition to Friedman and Liebezeit, guitarist Tim Motzer weaves funky touches all the way through. Lined up for the group´s live appearances and studio recordings is Hayden Chisholm, clarinet and melodica. Other guest musicians are Morten Grønvad, vibraharp; Daniel Schroeter, bass guitar and Joseph Suchy, electric guitar.

”Sikkerhed” surprises with brash acoustic guitar strums and windwood melodies akin to the sorrowful horns of Burt Bacharach. “The Sticks” and “Mikrokasper” gracefully funk through micro sounds and, in the former, bass/beat interplay and touches of guitar. “The Librarian” is the lone vocal track and is more sparse here than on last year’s intriguing Nine Horses (David Sylvian / Steve Jansen / Burnt Friedman) album, Snow Borne Sorrow. Sylvian’s inimitable vocals are much to the fore, yet befitting of the vibraphone laced beats and vice versa. He longingly talk-sings “oh my pretty, oh my sweet girl, it’s a marvelous place / she designed it with escape routes for you and me / so to the library with a new card, grab your favorite books / look for blueprints to the strains of our love.” Lovely guitar harmonics and occasional chords highlight “Niedrige Decken” while bell tones accentuate the utterly hypnotic heart beat of “Fearer”. The closer “Caracoles” (Spanish for “snails”) builds nicely before lapsing into strains of melodica and marimba. Secret Rhythms 2 is addictive, and the more I listen, the more I want to listen to it, its predecessors and its hopeful successors.” (Mark Weddle/